Skip to main content


Schools in the UK are eligible to register a domain name of their choice. These domains follow the format school For example a domain name could look like

Applying for a

Schools can apply to register a domain name if they do not already hold one. Applications should be made in writing to Nominet detailing the following:

  • School name
  • ID number
  • Postal address
  • Contact name
  • Contact email address
  • Preferred domain name
  • Registrar’s (hosting ISP’s) tag

Where groups of schools are forming a consortium for the centralised provision of teaching or IT services, either led by a Local Authority or a school group, a domain name can be registered. The Local Authority or lead school in the consortium should apply for the domain name using their name and contact details for the registration process.


New schools in England, Scotland, Wales, independent schools, school consortia and schools that wish to change their existing domain name will need to pay the registration fee of £5 + VAT. We will invoice the applicant directly and register the domain name on receipt of payment. domain names are not currently subject to a renewal fee.

Where to apply

Applications for new domains should be made in writing to:

Customer Services
Nominet UK
Minerva House
Edmund Halley Road
Oxford Science Park

Fax: 01865 332288

Please send any scanned documentation to

Schools in England

Local Authority ID Number Geographical domain ending
Barking and Dagenham E09000002
Barnet E09000003
Barnsley E08000016
Bath and North East Somerset E06000022
Bedford E06000055
Bexley E09000004
Birmingham E08000025
Blackburn with Darwen E06000008
Blackpool E06000009
Bolton E08000001
Bournemouth E06000028
Bracknell Forest E06000036
Bradford E08000032
Brent E09000005
Brighton and Hove E06000043
Bristol City of E06000023
Bromley E09000006
Buckinghamshire E10000002
Bury E08000002
Calderdale E08000033
Cambridgeshire E10000003
Camden E09000007
Central Bedfordshire E06000056
Cheshire East E06000049
Cheshire West and Chester E06000050
City of London E09000001
Cornwall E06000052
Coventry E08000026
Croydon E09000008
Cumbria E10000006
Darlington E06000005
Derby E06000015
Derbyshire E10000007
Devon E10000008
Doncaster E08000017
Dorset E10000009
Dudley E08000027
Durham E06000047
Ealing E09000009
East Riding of Yorkshire E06000011
East Sussex E10000011
Enfield E09000010
Essex E10000012
Gateshead E08000020
Gloucestershire E10000013
Greenwich E09000011
Hackney E09000012
Halton E06000006
Hammersmith and Fulham E09000013
Hampshire E10000014
Haringey E09000014
Harrow E09000015
Hartlepool E06000001
Havering E09000016
Herefordshire E06000019
Hertfordshire E10000015
Hillingdon E09000017
Hounslow E09000018
Isle of Wight E06000046
Isles Of Scilly E06000053
Islington E09000019
Kensington and Chelsea E09000020
Kent E10000016
Kingston upon Hull City of E06000010
Kingston upon Thames E09000021
Kirklees E08000034
Knowsley E08000011
Lambeth E09000022
Lancashire E10000017
Leeds E08000035
Leicester E06000016
Leicestershire E10000018
Lewisham E09000023
Lincolnshire E10000019
Liverpool E08000012
Luton E06000032
Manchester E08000003
Medway E06000035
Merton E09000024
Middlesbrough E06000002
Milton Keynes E06000042
Newcastle upon Tyne E08000021
Newham E09000025
Norfolk E10000020
North East Lincolnshire E06000012
North Lincolnshire E06000013
North Somerset E06000024
North Tyneside E08000022
North Yorkshire E10000023
Northamptonshire E10000021
Northumberland E06000048
Nottingham E06000018
Nottinghamshire E10000024
Oldham E08000004
Oxfordshire E10000025
Peterborough E06000031
Plymouth E06000026
Poole E06000029
Portsmouth E06000044
Reading E06000038
Redbridge E09000026
Redcar and Cleveland E06000003
Richmond upon Thames E09000027
Rochdale E08000005
Rotherham E08000018
Rutland E06000017
Salford E08000006
Sandwell E08000028
Sefton E08000014
Sheffield E08000019
Shropshire E06000051
Slough E06000039
Solihull E08000029
Somerset E10000027
South Gloucestershire E06000025
South Tyneside E08000023
Southampton E06000045
Southend-on-Sea E06000033
Southwark E09000028
St. Helens E08000013
Staffordshire E10000028
Stockport E08000007
Stockton-on-Tees E06000004
Stoke-on-Trent E06000021
Suffolk E10000029
Sunderland E08000024
Surrey E10000030
Sutton E09000029
Swindon E06000030
Tameside E08000008
Telford and Wrekin E06000020
Thurrock E06000034
Torbay E06000027
Tower Hamlets E09000030
Trafford E08000009
Wakefield E08000036
Walsall E08000030
Waltham Forest E09000031
Wandsworth E09000032
Warrington E06000007
Warwickshire E10000031
West Berkshire E06000037
West Sussex E10000032
Westminster E09000033
Wigan E08000010
Wiltshire E06000054
Windsor and Maidenhead E06000040
Wirral E08000015
Wokingham E06000041
Wolverhampton E08000031
Worcestershire E10000034
York E06000014


​Schools in Scotland

Local Authority Geographical domain ending
Argyll and Bute
Dumfries and Galloway
East Ayrshire
East Dunbartonshire
East Lothian
East Renfrewshire
North Ayrshire
North Lanarkshire
Orkney Islands
Perth and Kinross
Scottish Borders
Shetland Islands
South Ayrshire
South Lanarkshire
West Dunbartonshire
West Lothian
Western Isles


Schools in Wales

Local authority Geographical domain ending
Anglesey or
Blaenau Gwent
Carmarthenshire or
Denbighshire or
Flintshire or
Merthyr Tydfil
Neath Port Talbot
Newport or
Pembrokeshire or
Rhondda Cynon Taff
The Vale of Glamorgan


Schools In Northern Ireland

Geographical domain endings for schools in Northern Ireland

The domain names for Northern Ireland are allocated by a collaborative project between the Department for Education for Northern Ireland and the five Northern Ireland Education and Library Boards. The project group is called CLASS. For further details on how to apply for an domain name please call 0870 6011 666.

© Nominet UK 2015